Book Review – Behind the Mask by V P Smith

Behind_the_maskBehind the Mask: The Awakening by V P Smith
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I originally posted my review on goodreads, but then I felt that there were other readers out there, who do not frequent goodreads so much, who should know about it. So I decided to share my views with you here. [I received this book in exchange for an honest review through ‘Booksgosocial’s‘ review program for authors]

It’s been quite some time since I have come across a book that I was glad to have picked up. ‘Behind the Mask’ is an edgy, engaging book that you would not want to put down, even for a minute. Though the narrative has some high and low points, but the story will definitely grip you, shock and terrify you and give you sleepless nights.

As the name suggests, the book is about figurative masks and the people behind them. Everyone is wearing a mask. Who can you trust? The person you’ve just met or the one you’ve known your entire life. Are they as good as we think them to be or are they hiding something – so heinous that one cannot even imagine?

Smith will keep you hooked throughout the book, making you sit up and take a closer look at the people around you. You’re might be reading the book, but you’ll start recalling things you’ve seen or heard and you’ll begin to wonder if there was anything there.

Behind the Mask may be a work of fiction, but is not as removed from reality as we might hope for. We cannot ignore the grim reality of our society that Smith highlights here. I am sure law enforcement officials and survivors out there, will agree with the depiction of the sick depraved souls who inflict atrocities on children for their own pleasure. Hidden in plain sight they go on with their games and we are not able to tell them apart.

The question remains – How do you recognize that face that’s hiding in plain sight. How will you unmask it? Are our children truly safe? Who are these criminals – familiars or strangers? Are you strong enough to go forth and fight out the evil that lurks underneath?

Despite the strong storyline, you might question why I just gave it 3 stars. As much as I liked the fast-paced narration Smith uses to superbly control what is revealed and what remains hidden in the story, yet I personally could not agree with some of the train of events as the story progressed. At a certain point I also felt that there was clearly an imbalance of power, where one person was at a disadvantage while too many people were getting away with things, too easily. I did however, love the cover of the book – on closer look you can’t be sure if it’s a guy or a girl.

While I do strongly recommend the book, I also want you to be aware that you will not find all the answers here and it may leave you wanting at the end. I don’t mind this as long as Smith carries forward the questions that arise here to the next book and we get see some gripping conclusions.

I look forward to the second book and hope that it will be as engrossing as this one.

I would highly recommend this one to all lovers of crime and thrillers. It will not let you down.

Leave a Reply

