Book review – Anne Holt’s ‘1222’

1222: A Hanne Wilhelmsen Novel1222: A Hanne Wilhelmsen Novel by Anne Holt
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was the first time that I read Anne Holt’s work and I enjoyed it. It’s a good thriller and kept me glued to the pages to the very end. You get to see a terrifying face of nature – so wild, overpowering and closing on the people from all sides – enough to give you goosebumps. One after another tragedy strikes, bringing out the best and worst of human nature. While some people are calm and control, others play the devil’s advocate to gullible minds.

I liked the way Holt weaves the whole episode and uses Hanne Wilhelmsen, who is restricted due to a physical injury, to narrate the incident. Though the dry and detached narration gives you a clear picture of the events at the hotel; it is also a bit jarring on your nerves and at times I was really irritated with Hanne’s entire stance. Her sarcastic remarks are sometime funny and sometimes irksome. Also, certain sections (I personally felt this, for other readers it might be different) of what Hanne was saying or thinking left me clueless. The end and certain portions in between, especially the last page, made me think that I was missing out on something. Maybe reading a book before or after this adventure of Hanne would make more sense. Let me know if this is the case, then I would arrange for that book.

To summarize, 1222 is a very good, well-written book and you would not want to put this one down even for a moment. (I was persuaded though, after a scolding from my mother to leave it and go to sleep) Since we’re experiencing chilling winter in Delhi and my limbs refuse to move or leave the comfort and warmth of the blanket, the thought of being trapped, surrounded by tons & tons of snow, is a very frightening concept. So sections about cracking windows, bellowing wind and moaning walls, was terrifying for me.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Book review – Anne Holt’s ‘1222’

Leave a Reply

